Fixations Old and New

Happy Friday afternoon!  I am beyond excited…my Swiss bestie Pam is coming to visit me later today.  She will be here until Sunday, and I probably will sit next to her and hug her inappropriately all weekend long.  I can’t wait to post pics of her visit next week.

Running

As I’ve mentioned lately, my summer running has been pretty poor.  I’ve waited too late in the day to get my runs in, and when I have headed out, I’ve been running too fast for the heat and/or my goals and then shaving off distance as I get tired/overheated/behind schedule for summer activities.

I was determined to run six miles this morning.  I took off around 10:30 (temps in the low 80s), chose a route with some pretty good hills and told myself to take it slow and not to speed up as I went.  I was aiming for a 10:00-10:15 slow easy pace.  My splits were:

  1. 9:49
  2. 9:42
  3. 9:25
  4. 9:35
  5. 9:13
  6. 9:25

Oops.  Major fail.

Still, I did it, and it felt good, so why stop, right?  I was pretty happy with it–my first six-miler in quite a few weeks.  I really want to start paying attention to my weekly mileage again and start refocusing my running.  Enough of this random stuff!  Time to get this program in gear!

Golf

We recently joined the club in our neighborhood, and this means of course that I HAVE to learn how to golf.  I’ve been to the driving range a few times and hacked around on the course with HH and the kids last weekend.  We even found a set of clubs (difficult for me since I’m a leftie) at Dick’s last weekend on the cheap.

Image

I had my first lesson on Tuesday night, and it was pretty funny.  The pro’s name is Dave, and he started the lesson by asking me my education and work background.  He said he likes to get to know players and their personalities a little.

Masters, Ph.D, stay-at-home mom for over a decade.

Then he asked me if I am a competitive person.  Oh yeah.  You have no idea.

Image

He asked me what kind of results I’m looking for with my lessons.  Utter club domination, Dave.  What kind of person wants anything else?  Of course, I’m realistic, and I’ve seen some of the amazing female golfers at the club, so I’ll settle for fast and consistent improvement.  Get me there quick already.  I suck bad right now.  Less talk, more action.

Dave seemed satisfied that he had a good read on me, so he finished up by saying I looked like an athlete and asked what I do to stay in shape.

Oh, Dave…now I love you and will pay you money every week.  I’m a sucker for a compliment.

Dave says that I have a distinct advantage by being fit and in shape.

Did I mention that I loved Dave at this point?

I loved him even more after 30 minutes of instruction.  He was high-fiving, fist-pumping, and telling me that I was a natural.  According to Dave, I’m not just going to play golf, I’m going to play GREAT golf.

Dave is very good at the sales and rah-rah aspect of his job, and I promptly signed up for another lesson.  HH is rolling his eyes at my gullibility and grumbling how he’s played golf since his teens and never had a lesson.  I think he’s happy, though, to see me getting into it–it’s something we can do together as a couple and as a family.  I’ve been to the driving range faithfully every day to practice…I am nothing if not obsessive about things, and at the very least, I want to be less embarrassed when I’m out there.  I still swing and miss sometimes, and when that happens I want to die.  DIE!

I also need to work on sighting my ball.  HH had to point it out to me about a thousand times when we were on the course.  He now calls me Mrs. Havencamp.  Very funny.  Of course, if I could just figure out how to stay on the fairways, I wouldn’t have such a hard time finding it, right?

Happy weekend and happy running!

 

 

6 thoughts on “Fixations Old and New

  1. Hmmm…. It’s funny cause we are in lisbon and we were just thinking – we think – of you. Weren’t you the one that loves raclette cheese? It’s like I knew it from somewhere and perhaps from my golf loving, marathon running friend? Read your post to Tom and he got quite the chuckle. 🙂

    Like

    • Yes, it’s me! I would kill for some raclette!!!!! And I loved your Barcelona pics…tapas are a close second to raclette, and I love that city so much! Enjoy the rest of your vacay, friends!

      Like

Your turn to talk!

