Work It Out Wednesday: Fifth Gear

I get the Runner’s World Daily Kick In The Butt Quote by email, and today’s quote was by elite runner Ryan Hall…

I constantly remind myself that resting takes confidence.  Anyone can train like a mad man but to embrace rest and to allow all the hard training to come out takes mental strength.

I must be an incredibly confident woman with mental strength to spare, because all I want to do is embrace some rest–in fact, I’d like to do more than embrace it.  I’d like to go all the way with it on the first date.  I shall praise myself for being strong and having great confidence when I fall onto the couch for a nap this afternoon.

It’s not the running, though I do definitely feel the effects of the 20-miler still.  No, it’s more the fact that HH is gone and I can’t seem to sleep well without him.  At the risk of sounding selfish, would it be too much to ask for him to leave his incredibly important trial and come sleep next to me for the week of the marathon?  Princess needs her rest!

This week’s taper running called for a 5-mile run on Monday, which I cut to 3.5 (I felt like such a naughty rebel.)  Yesterday I ran 4 miles at pace.  I took Oscar, the blazing-fast-can’t-seem-to-heel-or-ignore-the-birds-and-squirrels pain in my ass.  My arm was sore from yanking him away from everything he wanted to hunt and pulling him back, but we finished with a perfectly acceptable 9:25 pace.  It must be nice to have four legs and be built for speed…I have two legs and was built for mall walking.Image

 

All was forgiven after…he likes to help keep my foot in place while I ice…Image

That makes 404 miles of training on my way to 26.2.  And not to be a jackass or anything, but I am THIS close to $2000 for my fundraising and would LOVE it if anyone else would consider donating to the Spondylitis Association of America on behalf of my run.

I’ve tried not to mention it much, because I don’t like hitting people up for money and really just appreciate the blog support, but if just a few people gave $10-20, I could clear the $2000 mark!!!!!  Donations are tax-deductible, and you will be doing so much for a great organization and a disease that deserves greater attention!  Just a click of the button on the top right-hand side of the page will get you started.

Moving on…

Source

I think I’ll buy some avocados today…my left quad hurts something fierce.  I’ve been rolling it like crazy, but food therapy might be in order.  I’m quite the pathetic sight in the evenings…playing Scramble with Friends and Candy Crush alone in bed with my muscle stick…for rolling, people, for rolling!

BTW, rambling Product Whore alert:  I engaged in some retail therapy yesterday and bought these Nike DriFit pants.  I’m thinking they might be my raceday pants.  They’re whisper thin and I’m guessing the pattern, while making my ass look huge, might mask the spread of the sweat/incontinence pattern that is sure to become visible after Mile 10 or so.  Run to your nearest store and pick up a pair!

Image

Finally, the music…today’s tunes (more than one–bonus!) are all songs I run to when I need to kick it, crush it, kill it, whatever your term is for taking it to another level.

Though I’ll never be a fast runner, I’m faster than some, and one of the things I enjoy about running is the ability to develop different running speeds and embrace them.  If you’ve tried running but say things like, “I only have one speed, and it’s slow”, then I encourage you to stick with it and try some different types of speed.  Run some 30-second intervals, do a random fartlek—find your fifth gear.  And may I recommend the following tunes to get you there?  These are sure to be interspersed in my marathon playlist.  I won’t mention all my Rocky songs, since I just covered those and since it goes without saying that they guarantee fifth-gear running!

  • How Far We’ve Come by Matchbox Twenty:  Jog.fm says it’s good for an 8:24 mile.  Hell yeah.
  • Talk Dirty to Me by Poison:  I never seen you look so good!
  • Baby I’m a Star by Prince:  I’m rich on personality!
  • Bounce That by Girl Talk:  Dirty language, kickass beat.  Girl Talk is my secret weapon.  
  • Minute by Minute by Girl Talk: Uh-huh.  The King of mashups.
  • Triple Double by Girl Talk:  Running heaven.
  • Jump on Stage by Girl Talk:  When he goes from Creep to Delirious, I’m in nirvana and don’t realize that I’m running—well, sort of.
  • Rebel Yell by Billy Idol:  I’d give you all and have none, babe, just to have you here by me.  That’s a sexy lyric from a nasty-looking man.
  • Houdini by Foster the People:  Focus on your ability!!!!!
  • Dog Days Are Over (Yeasayer Remix) by Florence + the Machine:  melodic beat.  Happiness hit her like a train on a track!  “Run fast” repeated like twenty times…perfect!

What’s your fifth gear song?  I’d love to add some more.  I’m going to need a whole lot of fifth gear if I’m going to run 4+ hours in just over two weeks!

8 thoughts on “Work It Out Wednesday: Fifth Gear

  1. Thank you so much for all that you do for us! You continue to make me smile whenever I read your post. I think I may have donated before but just in case I donated again! Thank you for being so honest with us and making us all laugh. You really make me feel more comfortable about my training experience! Best of luck to you, I know you will do awesome!!!

    Like

    • Your words helped make my day! Thanks for your support and for your donation. It means so much to me! I love this blog and the thought that I might make someone smile! Good luck with your running…

      Like

  2. And CONGRATS!!! You are now an overachiever – just checked your donations page, and it says you have raised $2045!!!!!! Made your goal, girl!!!!!’

    Like

Your turn to talk!

