20 Miles…I Got This!

What a difference 100 oz. of G2 can make…I did it!

It was an incredible run.  Obsessing paid off for once, and everything came together for 3 hours and 28 minutes that I will never forget.  I do have to say, though, that the planning that goes into these super long runs is not fun for me.  I feel like it sort of takes away from the joy of it.  Maybe that’s just because it’s my first time doing this.  

Hydrated to the gills, I started by putting a fast food salt packet under my tongue about 15 minutes before heading out.  I put a bunch of G2 bottles and some water out on my front porch.  I planned on taking in 10 oz. of G2 every 20 minutes and chewing 5 Honey Stingers at miles 6, 12 and 18 with some water.  Basically, I kept looping by my house once an hour to refill my Nathan belt and drink some water with the chews.  I also put another salt packet under my tongue at Mile 11. Gross, but oh so important.

I took it slow, slow and slower.  I was so full of self-doubt, but that gradually faded away as the run progressed.  I felt my confidence come back with each mile, and at Mile 17, I knew I had it.  I came out of a shady area and hit the sun right at that moment where I realized that finishing would be easy.  I decided to cut loose and speed up a little for the last half-hour.  Right as I sped up, one of my recent fave songs came on (We Come Running {Tiesto Remix}), the sun felt like it was shining right on my shoulders, and it was just a perfect moment.

My eyes welled up with tears, and I could not keep a goofy smile off my face.  It was like all the training finally came together, and for the first time in a few weeks I knew that Hal Higdon’s promises were true and I was prepared.  I felt like the man was finally delivering me to the Promised Land!!!!  Of course, I joke, but the truth is that it was fairly emotional.

So how perfect was it that TiffeeG was waiting for me when I got to my house with Gates BBQ and a big Diet Coke?  She is such a wonderful sister!

Image

 

I finished with an average 10:25 pace, with miles 17 -19 run at 10:18, 10:04 and 10:02 paces and energy left to burn.

Yippee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Thank you, G2, Honey Stingers and Culver’s drive-through window…proud unknowing sponsors of my 20 mile run!

And now it’s taper time…the time to rest, dial back the miles and bide my time.  April 20th is just a few short weeks away!

I hope you had a wonderful Easter weekend.  As always, thanks for reading!

13 thoughts on “20 Miles…I Got This!

  1. AWESOME!!!!! Let the taper begin! So glad you had a successful long run! All this salt and hydration planning has me wondering if the classic 80s tune “She Blinded Me with Science” is anywhere on your playlists??? My daughter and I were jamming to that and JT in the car – I thought you’d be proud of us 😉

    Like

Your turn to talk!

