Mein Liebster Award!

Friday party–I’m a winner!!  The fabulous runner and blogger Emma from Gaining Pace bestowed the Liebster Award upon this humble MaybeMarathoner.

The Liebster Award is passed between bloggers.  Basically, a blogger can give it to a blog with less than 200 followers.  Yep, I qualify.

Liebster is German for sweetest, dearest, kindest, etc.–this is terrible to say, but have you heard much German?  I took German in high school and college and also heard plenty of it during my three years in Switzerland.  That language is harsh (no offense meant, it just sounds rough!)  I heard Max’s German PE teacher yell at the kids to line up once at school and immediately wet my pants and curled up into the fetal position.  The only language that  hurts the ears more is French–spoken by me in a Midwestern accent.

Anyhoo, back to topic…Liebster!  Mein Liebster!  I can live with it.  It has a certain ring.  I’ll coo it to myself at night after I write a post and no one reads it.  Thank you, Emma…and everyone, please go check out her blog here.  She just finished her first half marathon!

As with many of the good things in life, the gift comes with rules, and I am a major rule-follower.  First, I must give my loyal readers 11 random facts about myself.

Are you ready?  I’m in the mood to share.

  1. I hate mayonnaise.  It’s completely unacceptable UNLESS it’s on a B.L.T. or totally hidden in a dip.  That sh!t is gross.
  2. If I didn’t have my wonderful husband (always referred to as HH) and two boys, I would be one of those crazy ladies with 5 dogs.  I have convinced HH to allow me two dogs.  They both stink.Image
  3. I’m one of those people who insists on reading the book before seeing the movie.  I’m partway through Volume Two of Les Misérables.  The fifty-page description of Waterloo almost did me in.  This one may break me.
  4. I survive on water, wine and coffee.  Throw in the occasional margarita in homage to my 11 years spent living in Texas.
  5. I’m an introvert.  I’ll write all day long, but I’m a bit awkward in person.  I always say the wrong thing.
  6. I think Point Break is the worst movie ever made.  Nobody would let Patrick Swayze surf off in the big wave.  Nobody.
  7. When I was a girl, I insisted on wearing knee-high white socks with my Nikes and my parochial school uniform.  My sister still hasn’t gotten over the embarrassment.
  8. I believe that we can learn a lot from R&B songs.  I don’t see nothing wrong with a little bump and grind, and I NEVER trust a big butt and a smile.
  9. If you don’t think Justin Timberlake (solo career only) is a god, then we can’t be friends.
  10. Any list of personal facts should include favorite books.  My top 5 are Pride and Prejudice, Catch-22, JPod, Seabiscuit and Personal History by Katherine Graham.
  11. I once had a boss tell me that I read between the lines where nothing is written.  True story.  I’m a peach.

As part of the award, Emma has also posed questions for me and her other nominated bloggers to answer.  I’m game!

What is your proudest moment and why?  Completing my Ph.D. is by far my proudest personal moment.  Though I gave up my career soon after to raise my children at home, I worked my tail off for that degree.  I will always be proud of that young lady who sometimes seems like a different person now, separate from myself.

What would you never do and why?  Well, up until a few months ago, I would have said “Run a marathon!”  Now I would have to say….go gluten-free.  Can’t do it, won’t do it.  I’ll just keep the bloat.

Why do you run?  I started running after I started exercising at the end of my 20s, felt like I was in decent shape, yet realized that I still couldn’t run a mile.  It was defeating.  That started the process for me.  I run now for sanity, peace and competition.  As we age, our desire for goals and competition doesn’t go away.  I run and experience the runner’s high and the peace that comes from being outside and doing something for myself and my health.  I set running goals and run races to feed my competitive fire.  I compete against myself and my doubts.  I’m a very competitive person.

What makes you want to read someone else’s blog?  I’m drawn to bloggers who have a great sense of humor, but also a sense of honesty.  It isn’t easy to log your miles and your stories, with no sense of whether people will find it interesting.  Bloggers who are tackling challenges, who aren’t afraid to laugh at themselves and/or who have a wacky sense of humor are so appealing to me!  I admire bloggers who are everyday runners, not speedsters, but who aren’t afraid to describe their progress nonetheless.  Non-bloggers, remember:  there’s power in a comment or a “like” on a blog!  It means so much to us bloggers sitting alone at our computers trying to bring life to an average 8-mile run!

What is your simple pleasure?  Sitting on my ass reading a book, small dog curled up in my lap, HH and boys close, glass of wine in hand.

What would you want with you if you were stranded on a desert island?  I’m going to focus on the “what” here and ignore the obvious “who”.  Still, I can’t even answer this.  I need so many things.  A shower, functioning toilet, toothbrush/toothpaste, my iPod, books, food, god there’s so much!  Needless to say, I don’t camp, canoe, or any of that stuff.

If you could only eat one meal for the rest of your life, what would it be and why?  Tex-mex.  Tacos, enchiladas, nachos, whatever.  Tex-mex.  Breakfast, lunch and dinner.  Perhaps with an Immodium chaser.

What song would make you get up and dance?  “Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough” by MJ.  “Work It” by Missy Elliott.  “Every Time I Turn Around (Back in Love Again)” by Jeffrey Osborne and LTD.  “Bounce That” by Girl Talk.

What is the worst job you have ever done?  I was an usher for the Kansas City Royals in high school, and one time a man hired several of us to work his son’s Bar Mitzvah.  One of the worst nights of my life, dressed as an usher trying to keep control of 100 kids in a bouncy house.  Nightmare.  Just one night though.  I can’t complain.

Where would you love to go on holiday and why?  I would love to go back to Santorini, where we went last summer.  Those sunsets were the most beautiful I’ve ever seen.  The South of France is a close second.  Very close.

To which charity did you last donate, and why?  My husband and I donate to the United Way monthly, so I guess that’s technically my last donation.  Beyond that, my last donation was to the Spondylitis Association of America, the charity that I’m raising money for with my blog and upcoming marathon in honor of my sister.  Donations are tax-deductible, readers!  Less than a month to go until the race!

My next task is to nominate a few blogs of my own along with my own questions, which I can’t wait to do but must save for my next post.  My 12-mile run calls me, as do errands with the boys.  HH is finally feeling somewhat normal again, so the boys are going to the grandparents and we are heading out for Date Night.

Thanks again, Emma!  This was so fun, and I love your blog!

2 thoughts on “Mein Liebster Award!

Your turn to talk!

