Work It Out Wednesday: I Told You I Was Freaky

Greetings from an absent blogger!  I missed last Friday’s Famous Feet Friday post…it was all I could do to work in my 15-mile long run.  I was sooo nervous before heading out and worried about my feet holding up.

I was trying out a new hydration strategy as well.  It’s obviously important to test out what you’re going to consume during a race–especially for someone like me, who easily veers into the runner’s trots stomach issues.

Also, I have very low blood pressure, a fact I probably haven’t mentioned before.  I’ve had trouble in the past with almost passing out after long runs, with my blood pressure dipping to as low as 90/50.  I’m basically half-catatonic most of the time.  HH likes to joke that he’s good for me because he annoys me just enough to raise my blood pressure and keep me alive.  I keep him around, and I consume tons of salt on doctor’s orders so I can retain water.

So, hydration and food consumption is a big issue for me for the marathon.  I’ve always shied away from sports drinks because I worried about the runs my stomach and haven’t felt they were necessary for the half-marathon distance, but I know I will need them to get through 26.2 since they contain the sodium I will need to keep from crashing.

I strapped on my Nathan belt with one bottle of water and one bottle of G2.  I also packed Honey Stingers…I’ve been experimenting with various types of chew/blocks.  Gels make me barf, so they are out.  The chews and blocks just haven’t rocked my world, and they seem excessively chewy, which is gross when you’re trying to maintain pace and even breathing while chewing and dealing with snot in your nose and drainage down the back of your throat.  I read on (never)homemaker’s blog (www.neverhomemaker.com) that she uses Honey Stingers, so I decided to try them out.

So I was set…clothing, bathroom break, Poise pad, stretching, dog pound locked up, playlist set, belt on, nerves on edge…it was a freakin’ ordeal just getting out the door.  Get out there and run already, idiot!

Yippee–I did it.  It went great!  I alternated between water/Honey Stingers and G2 every three miles starting at the four-mile mark, and my stomach was fine.  Of course everything hurt toward the end, but most of the pain stopped as soon as I stopped running (my knees were glad that I was done).  My dogs were barking (woof!), but only about as much as I expected, and I iced them both immediately.  I didn’t pass out after, which is always a plus.  I was plenty hungry, though, and had two PB&J sandwiches with half a bag of salty Tostitos as soon as I walked in the door.

Feet on ice and food in front of me, I checked my run stats.  My splits ranged from 10:00 to 10:42 (on a major hill), so I was happy, especially since I kept the pace easily toward the end, finishing with a 10:11 mile.  Nice and slow and perfect.  I was very happy…and I took a little siesta with the dog pound later that afternoon to rest.

I’ve kept up with my runs since and ran a 7-mile pace run yesterday, averaging 9:10 per mile.  Every time I think of the runs I’ve logged and the fact that I’m still hanging in there, I think of Wilson Phillips and sing to myself that the dream is still alive.  I can’t believe I’m admitting that.  Ultimate cheese.  Really old.  Totally pathetic.

Total miles logged: 193!

In other news, TiffeeG has had two doctor’s appointments in the past week.  She has to see a special ophthalmologist now, since AS affects her eyes (her eyes are inflamed and extremely dry, and she also has cataracts in both eyes now).  At her last appointment, her pressure readings were high, indicating the possibility of glaucoma, but he had hoped that the pressure was just temporarily inflated because of the cortisteroids in her body.  Luckily, at last week’s appointment the pressure was back to normal levels.  So, her cataracts haven’t progressed to the surgery point yet, which is great, but he says that her days of wearing contact lenses are basically over.

Good thing she looks equally beautiful in glasses.  She rocks the pretty scholar look!

She also had an appointment with her rheumatologist yesterday.  They are still waiting for the Remicade to start working, and the doctor said that there are signs of AS in her neck now as well as the degenerative disc disease that was already present.  I guess that explains why things were so bad in November and December…luckily, the steroid shots she got in the back of her neck have helped some, and she has been able to function day-to-day.

PT tip from TiffeeG!  She and I (and my mom and mother-in-law) were talking at Max’s family birthday party about arthritis and how it affects hand and grip strength.  She said that her therapist told her to use a chip clip and squeeze it between her thumb and fingers to work on her strength.  Hope it helps…I have a little trouble with my hands as I age myself (feeling like I can’t keep a grip on weights when strength training or grocery bags, etc.), so I will definitely be trying this!

Today’s Work It Out Wednesday song is (this one’s inappropriate): Too Many Dicks (On the Dance Floor) by Flight of the Conchords from their great album, I Told You I Was Freaky.  It’s got a great beat, it’s really pretty innocent except for all the euphemisms for a certain male body part and it always makes me smile and enjoy my run a little more!

I am off to Vegas tomorrow with HH for a last-minute weekend trip.  Wish me luck on getting in my planned half-marathon run on Saturday morning.  Also wish me luck at the poker tables, which is where we both will be when not running down the Strip for 13.1 (if I make it…we are not exactly known for restraint and keeping to our exercise goals while in Sin City).

Thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “Work It Out Wednesday: I Told You I Was Freaky

  1. I love reading your blog! Love the jokes and songs as well as the updates on your sis. Praying for some relief and healing for her 🙂

    Like

  2. Congrats on the 15 sister, I knew you could do it! Not sure how you do it but you do it well and inspire everyone who knows you.

    Good luck in Sin City, hope you don’t end up at Subway! Ahhh memories:)

    BTW those chews sound gross.

    Love you PP!
    TiffeeG

    P.S. Wilson Phillips rocks. I sound just like them when I sing along. You know it’s true.

    Like

Your turn to talk!

