Work It Out Wednesday: Welcome to the 80s!

Other than describing nasty bodily functions, I haven’t given much detail on my training runs lately.  I believe I have a few beginning runners checking out the blog now, so I’m happy to give a short update on my recent runs and paces.

I’m still running 3 miles on Monday, 6 miles on Tuesday and 3 miles on Wednesday and will continue to do so for the next 2 weeks.  Some of those runs are meant to be done at goal pace, which I’m estimating around 9:30-9:40/miles, while the others are meant to be run slow, which I am trying to force myself to keep around the 10:20-10:30 mark.

Since I am jumping to 12 miles on my Friday run this week, the program called for slow runs each of the first 3 days.  I ran 3 miles Monday at a 10:15 pace, 6 miles yesterday at 10:09, and 3 miles today at 10:07.

Oops.  Too fast.  I need to work on that some more.  I’ll blame today’s pace on Oscar, who runs some of my slow 3-milers with me but is determined to drag me along ever faster until we reach his comfortable sub-9:00 running pace.

Image

Total miles logged (since the official start of training): 91.

For Work It Out Wednesday, I’ve strapped on the lace gloves and parachute pants to dig deep into my past–presenting you with the finest set of 80s tunes I could come up with for those solitary runs…each tune tested either on yesterday’s 6-mile run or admittedly already a proud member of one of my many running playlists.

I have to laugh at a few of these choices, because they weren’t even songs I liked back then, but now they take me back for one reason or another (waaayyyyy back, one could argue, but let’s not focus on that!), and if I can find a tune that either has a great beat for running, inspiring lyrics or just the ability to send me off into some sort of trance, then it’s good!

Oh, and not all songs I mention on this or any other Work It Out Wednesday post are guaranteed to be free of cussing, explicit sex/drug references, or misogynistic rap.  Booties are popping and dropping, rappers are cussing, and ladies are members of the twerk team.  Full disclosure.  No apologies.  Whatever makes you put one foot in front of the other…

And we’re off (as the late Eazy E would say, like a bullet from a gun!)…

“Delirious” by Prince.  That beat kills.  It’s hard not to dance while running along to this song.  And if you worship the short man from Minneapolis like I do, go ahead and add “I Would Die 4 U”, “Baby I’m a Star”, “Cream” and “Raspberry Beret” to your playlist.  You won’t regret it.

“Head Over Heels” by the Go-Gos.  Again, the beat…it just works for me.  Right around the 2:30 mark, just after the piano solo, there’s a little spell that puts me in running heaven.

“Alive and Kicking” by Simple Minds.

You turn me on, you lift me up
And like the sweetest cup I’d share with you
You lift me up, don’t you ever stop, I’m here with you
Now it’s all or nothing
‘Cause you say you’ll follow through
You follow me, and I, I, I follow you

Uh-huh.  Beautiful lyrics, and I’m still running.

“Talk Dirty To Me” by Poison.  This song proves that cheesiness is indeed inspirational.  Hated it then, love it now.

“Don’t Go Away Mad (Just Go Away)” by Motley Crue.  Slower, just as cheesy as Poison, but builds to a great finish.  You’ll forget that you’ve been running for the last 4+ minutes.

While we’re on the topic of hair bands, I can run to pretty much anything by Van Halen.  “Running with the Devil”, “Love Walks In”, “Best of Both Worlds”, “Feels So Good”…keep ’em coming, and I’ll keep runnin’!

“Paradise City” is another hair band special.  Sing it Axl, you nasty beast!

“Only the Young” by Journey.  This one just takes me back in time, and I start to forget that my knees hurt and that my running form sucks.  And if you’re running slow, “Lovin’, Touchin’, Squeezin'” works…kind of the precursor to JT’s “Cry Me a River”.  Some women are so stupid.

Now believe it or not, though I’ve thrown enough hairspray music at you to make you puke, that wasn’t my favorite type of music in the 80s (we’ll throw in the early 90s into the category as well).  No, I was an R&B girl back then, and I loved all the rap that was coming out when I was in high school.  I swore to my mother that gangsta rap wouldn’t corrupt me.  New Jack Swing made me all kinds of happy.  I thought Bobby Brown would have a long musical career.  I did, I really did.  It came from my parents…my father was Earth, Wind, and Fire’s biggest fan.  “Let’s Groove Tonight” is a runner’s dream song.  It totally loosens the hips…cuz’ you can’t help but shake ’em when you run to that song!

So try some old school rap.  Run to “Girls” by the Beastie Boys sometime.  It’s totally awesome!  Throw in a little “Fat Girl” by N.W.A. on those bloated days.  “If It Isn’t Love” by New Edition is a regular on my runs, but I have trouble just running when it plays and not busting into the dance moves from the video (I guess I could modernize and attempt Beyonce’s “Love on Top” video).  “Around The Way Girl” by L.L. Cool J never gets old.  “Roni” by Bobby Brown is just so smooth, and Johnny Gill can “Rub You The Right Way”.

If I’m talking about the 80s, can I neglect Michael Jackson?  Nope, I can’t.  His brothers make the cut too.  “Off the Wall”, “P.Y.T.”, Shake Your Body (Down to the Ground)” and “Don’t Stop (‘Til You Get Enough)” always work.  Also, anyone remember “Can You Feel It?”?  I run to it all the time and still remember the video where they sprinkled stuff on the earth.  Oh, the 80s!

Can I really embarrass myself here (sure I can…I admitted stress incontinence yesterday.  There’s nowhere to go but up!)?  I love “Solid” by Ashford and Simpson.  I sing it as I run.  They built it up and built it up and built it up.  They did it for love’s sake.  Now it’s solid.  Solid as a rock.

And to finish, a few Top 40 pop inclusions–first, “I Guess That’s Why They Call It The Blues” by Elton John.  Perfect slower beat, and oh the sweet lyrics!

I simply love you

more than I love life itself

Sigh.  Run.  Relax.  Think of Handsome Hubby and how I still like nothing better than spending time with him after almost 19 years of marriage.

And finally, I finished yesterday’s run with a cheesy classic, “Love Will Find a Way” by Lionel Richie.  I snapped my fingers and sang along in my head…probably not a song that many people would want to run to, but it worked for me!

Some say we’ve lost our way

Some say the world has gone astray

But if you know where you’re going

There’s nothing you can’t do

Ooh…inspiring.  Thanks for the lift, Lionel.  I’m going to Mile 26.2 on April 20th.  Won’t you join me?

So there it is…my 80s flashback.  Hope some of these tunes appeal to your running senses.    I realize as I read over this post that I am perhaps not the music hipster that I fancy myself to be.  My idea of a nightmare is public exposure of my iTunes catalog.  Nevertheless, keep your feet on the ground and keep reaching for the stars!

2 thoughts on “Work It Out Wednesday: Welcome to the 80s!

  1. Ohh Only the Young is another good one I forgot about! I’ll have to add that one. I have Simple Minds on my 80’s playlist and Prince too. I will also admit to Billy Idol’s Dancing With Myself and Kim Wilde’s Kids in America. Ok I’m off to do my run. I’m glad your foot feels better!

    Like

Your turn to talk!

